top of page
  • Writer's pictureSusan Willemse

June 2019 Art Pricing Update- Australian birds Art Gallery

Updated: Feb 27, 2020


My Australian birds Art Gallery has just had a Pricing Update to bring it in line with Professional International Fine Art standards and so that I can standardise on every art site platform online and in brick and mortar Galleries. The calculations used to obtain these are now standardised and unbiased- that is all artworks of a certain price are the same, smaller artworks are also less than larger artworks and framing and marketing costs are calculated per linear inch as well. The methods I have used are those that Maria Brophy has applied to her own art practise- Thank you Maria for your helpful book! and are calculated using the following:

Pricing per square inch length x width“= _ square inches x $ square inch price = _

Framing length + width (x2) = _ x $ per linear inch x2 for marketing costs

I have not rounded off prices as these are exact calculations.

Shipping, packing and warranty costs have been kindly quoted in June 2019 by Sam at Pack & Send Fyshwick, price increases may occur due to inflation costs/ cost of living increases in the future.

Note: $ square inch price is $6.00

Price per linear inch for framing is $5.00

Shipping, packing and warranty which uses volume, weight, destination postal codes, different couriers, percentages of value have kindly been done by Sam Bryant, Fyshwick Pack and Send, Thank you Sam!

Also a big Thank you to Steven Willemse in providing the excel spreadsheet to help me with future calculations too.

My dream was to provide quality artwork to everyone at affordable costs, sadly I have realised that original artwork is a luxury item and marketing without grants, sponsors and patrons to provide a means to accept biennial, museum, publication and Art Fair invitations is expensive for a artist. This is going to be essential for the future so more art lovers can see these artworks and I can continue to produce more. I hope to introduce a donation process in the future too to prevent further price increases as well but for those that still wish to own a artwork at slightly less cost I recommend:

-that you choose a smaller artwork piece,

-consider a commission- I will only accept these if I have written permission from the photographer of a image referenced as I appreciate the time and expense involved to obtain these images as a photographer myself , a 50% non-refundable deposit is also required, email me with queries, are you living close to us- do you need your subject matter photographed by us? Previous commissions done can be viewed on request.

-consider buying unframed

-consider purchasing a Print or

-if you live close to Canberra buying directly from the Gallery can save on shipping, packing and warranty costs, however I am very pleased with these prices quoted and with the services already obtained.

There is also a Wildlife Art series starting this year from photographs we have taken of the furry creatures we have met here in Canberra - they are too delightful not to paint! I hope you enjoy their personalities too. https://susanwillemse.wixsite.com/artaustralianbirds/wildlife-art-gallery

Susan


52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Online scams you need to be aware of

People are using online platforms more and more every day, from social connections, to marketing to selling products and they using personal computers, mobile phones and other platforms. Like every fa

LOVE IT but can’t afford it?

I was sad to read this comment today! I had to reprice my artwork so I could accept the expensive luxury marketing invites in the future and stay in business, I estimated $10000 per artwork in just 2

bottom of page