top of page
  • Writer's pictureSusan Willemse

Art in Progress

Updated: Feb 27, 2020


Before and after completion. Red- rumped parakeet. I have tried to show collectors the process of creating the unique artwork on this website which involves both artistic and technical tools. Photography is the first step and knowledge of equipment, light, lenses, the subject matter to be photographed, even the seasons and the software to process and store these images is needed. Following this I create the composition in my mind and use airbrushing techniques which require a thorough knowledge of stripping and cleaning this equipment and pressure and dilution optimisation. I retain outlines in my art as scientifically correct as possible but feel free to experiment and abstract backgrounds. Next I use a sketching process where I paint directly onto the stretched canvas and then apply other art methods of glazing, layering and paintbrush work to complete the artwork. Once the painting is finished it is then signed, photographed, framed, catalogued and a Certificate of Authenticity is made and signed and only then is it ready for a new home. More details can be seen at my Social media URLs which you will find under More on the Main menu bar. Videos can be viewed on YouTube created to share a few of my Solo exhibits in the Gallery we built for private viewing here in Canberra, please share as this helps all artists market their creations. For those that have, Thank you you are all stars! Art is always a creative process in progress, artists wear many hats and are photographers, painters, social media managers, CEO's, carers, copywriters, website designers, video editors, accountants, fundraisers, framers, they need to know SEO and they need to do ongoing education as methods and process change, so be sure to Subscribe to see the latest news. Australian birds art Gallery is lucky to have Steven Willemse to help in all photographic and technical issues surrounding this work, I am lucky to have been trained to see detail in the medical work I did prior to visual art, thus it is a combination of many skills that a customer purchases. I hope that you find mindfulness and wellness through these creations. Happy browsing everyone!


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Online scams you need to be aware of

People are using online platforms more and more every day, from social connections, to marketing to selling products and they using personal computers, mobile phones and other platforms. Like every fa

LOVE IT but can’t afford it?

I was sad to read this comment today! I had to reprice my artwork so I could accept the expensive luxury marketing invites in the future and stay in business, I estimated $10000 per artwork in just 2

bottom of page